Home > Programs > Special Programs & Initiatives > Sketch to Screen Costume Design Panel

2024 Sketch to Screen Costume Design Panel

Presented by UCLA TFT’s David C. Copley Center for the Study of Costume Design, the 14th annual Sketch to Screen Costume Design Panel will take place on Saturday, March 9, 2024.

On the eve of the Academy Awards each year, costume designer and Distinguished Professor Deborah Nadoolman Landis, Ph.D., Chair and Founding Director of the Copley Center, welcomes a stellar group of international costume designers to discuss their craft. With Professor Landis moderating, the Sketch to Screen panelists engage in a thought-provoking panel discussion about the central role costume designers play in cinematic storytelling. Audience members are given an invaluable look into some of the most successful creative minds in Hollywood.

Jenny Beavan (Mrs. Harris Goes to Paris)
Ruth E. Carter (Academy Award winner, Black Panther: Wakanda Forever)
Shirley Kurata (Everything Everywhere All at Once)
Catherine Martin (Elvis)
Mary Zophres (Babylon)

Jenny Beavan (Academy Award winner, Cruella)
Massimo Cantini Parrini (Cyrano)
Bob Morgan (Dune)
Luis Sequeira (Nightmare Alley)
Paul Tazewell (West Side Story)
Jacqueline West (Dune)

Alexandra Byrne (Academy Award nominee, Emma.)
Massimo Cantini Parrini (Academy Award nominee, Pinocchio)
Bina Daigeler (Academy Award nominee, Mulan)
Trish Summerville (Academy Award nominee, Mank)

Mark Bridges (Academy Award nominee, Joker)
Jacqueline Durran (Academy Award winner, Little Women)
Christopher Peterson (Academy Award nominee, The Irishman)
Arianne Phillips (Academy Award nominee, Once Upon a Time in Hollywood)
Sandy Powell (Academy Award nominee, The Irishman)
Mayes Rubeo (Academy Award nominee, Jojo Rabbit)

Ruth E. Carter (Academy Award winner, Black Panther)
Alexandra Byrne (Academy Award nominee, Mary Queen of Scots)
Sandy Powell (Academy Award nominee, Mary Poppins Returns and The Favourite)
Mary Zophres (Academy Award nominee, The Ballad of Buster Scruggs)
Erin Benach (A Star Is Born)
Mary E. Vogt (Crazy Rich Asians)

Mark Bridges (Academy Award winner, Phantom Thread)
Jacqueline Durran (Academy Award nominee, Beauty and the Beast, Darkest Hour)
Luis Sequeira (Academy Award nominee, The Shape of Water)
Nadine Haders (Get Out)
Jennifer Johnson (I, Tonya)
April Napier (Lady Bird)

Consolata Boyle (Academy Award nominee, Florence Foster Jenkins)
Madeline Fontaine (Academy Award nominee, Jackie)
Mary Zophres (Academy Award nominee, La La Land)
Erin Benach (Loving)
Sharen Davis (Fences)
Arianne Phillips (Nocturnal Animals)

Jenny Beavan (Academy Award winner, Mad Max: Fury Road)
Paco Delgado (Academy Award nominee, The Danish Girl)
Sandy Powell (Academy Award nominee, Carol, Cinderella)
Jacqueline West (Academy Award nominee, The Revenant)
Suttirat Anne Larlarb (Steve Jobs)
Michael Wilkinson (Joy)

Mark Bridges (Academy Award nominee, Inherent Vice)
Jacqueline Durran (Academy Award nominee, Mr. Turner)
Anna B. Sheppard (Academy Award nominee, Maleficent)
Ruth E. Carter (Selma)
Kari Perkins (Boyhood)
Albert Wolsky (Birdman)

Catherine Martin (Academy Award winner, The Great Gatsby)
Michael Wilkinson (Academy Award nominee, American Hustle)
Wendy Chuck (Nebraska)
Daniel Orlandi (Saving Mr. Banks)
Trish Summerville (The Hunger Games: Catching Fire)

Jacqueline Durran (Academy Award winner, Anna Karenina)
Paco Delgado (Academy Award nominee, Les Misérables)
Joanna Johnston (Academy Award nominee, Lincoln)
Mark Bridges (Silver Linings Playbook)
Kasia Walicka-Maimone (Moonrise Kingdom)
Jacqueline West (Argo)

Mark Bridges (Academy Award winner, The Artist)
Lisy Christl (Academy Award nominee, Anonymous)
Sandy Powell (Academy Award nominees, Hugo)
Wendy Chuck (The Descendants)
Leesa Evans (Bridesmaids)
Deborah Scott (TransformersWe Bought a Zoo)

Jenny Beavan (Academy Award nominee, The King's Speech)
Sandy Powell (Academy Award nominee, The Tempest)
Mark Bridges (The FighterGreenberg)
Antonella Cannarozzi (I Am Love)
Danny Glicker (Virginia)
Ellen Mirojnick (Wall Street: Money Never Sleeps)
Arianne Phillips (Knight and Day)