• Deborah Landis
  • Edit Villareal
  • Brian Kite
  • Myung Hee Cho
  • Jeff Burke
  • “Sean
Home > Faculty > Theater Department

Theater Faculty

Our faculty provide comprehensive training in all the professions of theater, from playwriting and acting to costume design and directing. They also provide a study of theater's 2,500-year history and literature. Students engage in the presentation of dramatic work in a community where creativity and critical thought combine in the exploration of the artistic and intellectual challenges inherent in the making of theater.

The Department of Theater has some of the most distinguished faculty and visiting artists in the world. With this professional training, students are following in the footsteps of our illustrious alumni.

Roster Faculty

SYLVAN OSWALD Assistant Professor Sylvan Oswald has received a prestigious Guggenheim Fellowship, one of four professors at UCLA to receive the honor in 2019.
Read more


J. Ed Araiza


Thomas O'Connor

Associate Professor

Joseph M. Olivieri

Head of Acting;
Associate Professor
Thomas J. Orth
Sr Lecturer SOE Emeritus
Mel Shapiro
Professor Emeritus
Michael Donovan
Marilyn Fox
Adjunct Associate Professor
Ed J. Monaghan
Adjunct Associate Professor
Judith E. Moreland
Adjunct Associate Professor
Jean-Louis Rodrigue
Adjunct Professor
April Shawhan
Adjunct Associate Professor
Paul M. Wagar
Adjunct Professor
Jonathan Wang