• Zuri Adele
  • Ana Lily Amirpour
  • Amy Aniobi
  • Dustin Lance Black
  • Jack Black
  • Carol Burnett
  • Charles Burnett
  • Steven Canals
  • Patricia Cardoso
  • Robert Carl Cohen
  • Francis Ford Coppola
  • Julie Dash
  • Mikey Day
  • James Dean
  • Donna Deitch
  • Channing Dungey
  • Moctesuma Esparza
  • Faris and Dayton
  • Alex Gibney
  • Geoffrey Gilmore
  • Kristen Hanngi
  • Catherine Hardwicke
  • Mariska Hargitay
  • Felicia Henderson
  • Todd Holland
  • Judy Kaye
  • Teran Killam
  • David Koepp
  • Justin Lin
  • Jim Morrison
  • Alexander Payne
  • Nasim Pedrad
  • James Ponsoldt
  • Billy Porter
  • Gina Prince-Bythewood
  • John Ptak
  • Dan Pyne
  • John Rando
  • Billy Ray
  • Rob Reiner
  • Tim Robbins
  • Nicolette Robinson
  • Paul Schrader
  • Olly Sholotan
  • Brad Silberling
  • Jocko Sims
  • Penelope Spheeris
  • Ben Stiller
  • Michael Stuhlbarg
  • George Takei
Home > Alumni


In the fall of 1947, what is now known as the UCLA School of Theater, Film and Television was founded as the UCLA Department of Theater, beginning its ascent as a creative force recognized around the world as one of the top-ranking programs for training and scholarly research in theater, film, television and digital media.

In the early 1980s, faculty member Melvyn Helstein began a project to identify all of the students who had matriculated at the school. With the assistance of the greater UCLA Alumni Association, Helstein and his ad hoc alumni committee produced a master list of more than 4,000 former students. UCLA TFT now boasts more than 11,000 alumni. They are the lifeblood of the entertainment and performing arts industries today, and the thought leadership and cutting-edge researchers who are providing the road map for where we’re going tomorrow.

"When you go to the UCLA School of Theater, Film & Television, you become a lifelong member and participate in a very unique tradition. Family. One that proudly claims some of the world’s most legendary storytellers, scholars, industry leaders, mavericks and creative minds. I remember well the influences on me as a student, greats like Arthur Ripley, Dorothy Arzner and Alexander Mackendrick. Upon graduation you will join this great heritage as you pursue your career. Being part of our remarkable Alumni community is an exciting experience.”

— Francis Ford Coppola M.F.A. '67

Alumni Spotlight
Tamlin Hall(MFA '13), creator and executive producer of "Hope Givers," received a Southeast Emmy Award for Outstanding Achievement in Children/Youth/Teen Long Form Content in June 2022. Pat Carey (MFA '13) and Numair Abbas (MFA '13) created the animation shorts for the show's first season.