Sketch to Screen 2017
Home > Programs > Special Programs & Initiatives > Sketch to Screen Costume Design Panel and Celebration

Sketch to Screen Costume Design Panel and Celebration

Presented by Swarovski, Dean Teri Schwartz and UCLA TFT’s David C. Copley Center for the Study of Costume Design, the eighth annual Sketch to Screen Costume Design Panel and Celebration will take place on Saturday, March 3, 2018 at UCLA’s Schoenberg Hall.

On the eve of the Academy Awards each year, Deborah Nadoolman Landis, Chair and Founding Director of the Copley Center, welcomes a stellar group of international costume designers to the UCLA TFT campus to discuss their craft. With Professor Landis moderating, the Sketch to Screen panelists engage in a thought-provoking panel discussion about the central role costume designers play in cinematic storytelling. Audience members are given an invaluable look into some of the most successful creative minds in Hollywood.

In 2017, panelists included three Oscar nominees, Consolata Boyle (Florence Foster Jenkins), Madeline Fontaine (Jackie) and Mary Zophres (La La Land) as well as distinguished costume designers Erin Benach (Loving), Sharen Davis (Fences) and Arianne Phillips (Nocturnal Animals).

Panelists included 2016 Academy Award winner Jenny Beavan (Mad Max: Fury Road) as well as 2016 Oscar nominees Paco Delgado (The Danish Girl), Sandy Powell (Carol, Cinderella) and Jacqueline West (The Revenant) along with Suttirat Anne Larlarb (Steve Jobs) and 2014 Oscar nominee Michael Wilkinson, who most recently created the costumes for Joy, starring Jennifer Lawrence.

In 2015, panelists included Academy Award nominees Mark Bridges (Inherent Vice), Jacqueline Durran (Mr. Turner) and Anna B. Sheppard (Maleficent), as well as Ruth E. Carter (Selma), Kari Perkins (Boyhood) and Albert Wolsky (Birdman), representing three of the eight films nominated for the Best Picture Oscar.

In 2014, the panel was comprised of today’s leading costume designers including Wendy Chuck (Nebraska), Daniel Orlandi (Saving Mr. Banks), Trish Summerville (The Hunger Games: Catching Fire) as well as the 2014 Academy Award nominee Michael Wilkinson (American Hustle) and Academy Award winner Catherine Martin (The Great Gatsby).

In 2013, the panelists included Bridges (Silver Linings Playbook), Paco Delgado (Les Misérables), the 2013 Academy Award winner Durran (Anna Karenina), as well as Joanna Johnston (Lincoln), Kasia Walicka-Maimone (Moonrise Kingdom) and Jacqueline West (Argo).

In 2012, participants included Oscar nominees Lisy Christl (Anonymous), Sandy Powell (Hugo) and Academy Award winner Bridges (The Artist). Additional invited guests included Chuck (The Descendants) Leesa Evans (Bridesmaids), Deborah Scott (Transformers, We Bought a Zoo) and Christine Wada (Bridesmaids).

The event is possible through the generous support of Swarovski, whose history spans more than 80 sparkling years on the silver screen, working hand-in-hand with countless costume, jewelry and set designers on some of Hollywood’s most iconic productions.

SKETCH TO SCREEN 2017: Professor Deborah Nadoolman Landis (far right) poses with costume designers (from left) Erin Benach, Consolata Boyle, Madeline Fontaine, Sharen Davis, Mary Zophres and Arianne Phillips.