Skip to content

Awards season roundup

HBO’s Succession and Netflix’s Don’t Look Up, both produced by Kevin J. Messick (BA, MFA ’89), were popular on the 2021 awards circuit. Eric Roth (MFA ‘74), the screenwriter of the Warner Bros. epic Dune, scored a pair of nominations, and the documentary short Aguilas co-directed by TFT Professor Kristy Guevara-Flanagan, also felt the love. From the Annies to the Oscars, here’s our roundup of nominees and winners at major awards ceremonies who have ties to TFT. Winners are noted below in bold.

Academy Awards

Kevin J. Messick, producer
Best Picture
Don’t Look Up

Eric Roth, screenwriter
Best Adapted Screenplay

AFI Awards

Kevin J. Messick, producer *WINNER
Film of the Year
Don’t Look Up

Kevin J. Messick, executive producer *WINNER
TV Program of the Year

Art Directors Guild Awards

Kristan Andrews (BA ’91), production designer
Multi-Camera Series
Punky Brewster (Peacock)

Curt Beech (MFA ’03), production designer
Half-Hour Single Camera Series
Only Murders in the Building (Hulu)

Jon Carlos (BA ’05), production designer
Half-Hour Single-Camera Series
Hacks (HBO Max)

Mark Worthington (faculty), production designer *WINNER
Television Movie or Limited Series
WandaVision (Disney+)

Annie Awards


Rob Hoegee (MFA ’96), executive producer
Best TV/Media (Preschool)
Stillwater (Apple TV+)

Jennifer Jew (BA ’89), second film editor
Best Editorial (Feature)
Luca (Pixar)

BAFTA Awards

Kevin J. Messick, producer
Best Film
Don’t Look Up

Cinema Audio Society Awards

William B. Kaplan (BA ’69), sound mixer
Sound Mixing for TV Series (One Hour)
The Morning Show (Apple TV+)

Critics’ Choice Awards

Steven Canals (MFA ’15), executive producer
Best Drama Series
Pose (FX)

Kevin J. Messick, executive producer *WINNER
Best Drama Series

Billy Porter (Professional Programs), actor
Best Actor in a Drama Series

Critics’ Choice Super Awards

Kevin J. Messick, producer
Best Science Fiction/Fantasy Movie
Don’t Look Up

Film Independent Spirit Awards

Gina Wallace Horvat (MFA ’11), actor, writer, director
I Blame Society

Nicole Riegel (MFA ’13), writer, director, producer

IDA Documentary Awards

Kristy Guevara-Flanagan (faculty), writer, co-director
Best Short

NAACP Image Awards Awards

Steven Canals (MFA ’15), writer
Writing in a Drama Series

Billy Porter (Professional Programs), actor, author
Actor in a Drama Series, Pose
Character Voice-over Performance (television), Fairfax (Amazon)
Literary Work Biography/Autobiography, Unprotected: A Memoir (Abrams)

Davita Scarlett (MFA ’13), written by *WINNER
Writing in a Drama Series
The Good Fight (Paramount+)

Tran Quyen, cinematographer
Outstanding Breakthrough Creative
Maid (Netflix)

Producers Guild of America Awards

Kevin J. Messick, producer
Producer of Theatrical Motion Pictures
Don’t Look Up

Kevin J. Messick, executive producer *WINNER
Norman Felton Award for Outstanding Producer of Episodic Television (Drama)

SXSW Film Awards

David Ross Goldblum (MFA ’12), producer
World premiere

Kathryn Golden (Professional Programs, ’13), director
World premiere
Santos — Skin to Skin

Kristy Guevara-Flanagan (faculty), writer, co-director *WINNER
Short Documentary Film

Frank Marshall (Executive Board), writer-director
World premiere
Jazz Fest: A New Orleans Story

Zahida Paridi (MFA student), writer-director
Narrative Shorts Competition
El Carrito

Writers Guild Awards

Mitali Jahagirdar (MFA ’17), writer
Children’s Episodic Longform and Specials
“Which Witch?” Just Beyond (Disney+)

Eric Roth, screenwriter
Adapted Screenplay

Credits: Dune (Warner Bros.), WandaVision (Marvel Studios), Luca (Pixar), Don’t Look Up (Netflix),
Succession (HBO), The Morning Show (Apple TV+), Holler (IFC Films), Aguilas (Gonella Prods.),
The Good Fight (Paramount+), Just Beyond (Disney+)