Theater Cred

UCLA TFT Alumni and Faculty Nominated for the Stage Raw Los Angeles Theater Awards

Twelve UCLA TFT students and two faculty members have been nominated for the first-ever Stage Raw Los Angeles Theater Awards, presented by the Celebration Theatre. This inaugural ceremony picks up the mantle from the longstanding but now-defunct LA Weekly Theater Awards by recognizing the stellar work done in Los Angeles theaters of 99 seats or less.

A number of the UCLA TFT nominees, including Sheila Callaghan (M.F.A. ’97), Shannon Holt (B.A. ’84), Anna Khaja (B.A. ’97), Hana S. Kim (M.F.A. ’12), Pablo Santiago (M.F.A. ’13) and Visiting Assistant Professor Jessica Kubzansky, were recently nominated for 2014 LA Stage Alliance Ovation Awards.  

The Stage Raw celebration, which takes place on Monday, April 13 at Los Angeles Theatre Center in the form of a retro cocktail party featuring live music, entertainment and a pre-show buffet, is open to the public. Tickets ($25) are available on the LATC website.

A complete list of UCLA TFT Stage Raw Los Angeles Theater Awards nominees follows.


Video/Projection Design
Hana S. Kim, The Ugly One, Ensemble Studio Theatre/L.A.
Hana S. Kim, Bulrusher, Skylight Theatre Company

Sheila Callaghan, Everything You Touch, The Theatre @ Boston Court and Rattlestick Playwrights Theater

Sound Design
Corwin Evans (M.F.A. ’09), Penelope, Rogue Machine

Lighting Design
Pablo Santiago, The Brothers Size, The Fountain Theatre

Supporting Female Performance
Anna Khaja, My Name is Asher Lev, The Fountain Theatre

Supporting Male Performance
Theodore Perkins (M.F.A. ’07), The Brothers Size, The Fountain Theatre

Female Comedy Performance
Michelle Holmes (M.F.A. ’83), Young Frankenstein, DOMA at the Met Theatre
Shannon Holt, The Vortex, Matrix Theatre Company
Lonni Silverman (B.A. ’05), A Family Affair, Classical Theatre Lab

Leading Male Performance
Kevin Weisman (B.A. ’93), Villon, Padua Playwrights and Odyssey Theatre Ensemble

Direction Award
Shirley Jo Finney (M.F.A. ’73), The Brothers Size, The Fountain Theatre
Robin Larsen (M.F.A. ’01), A Delicate Balance, Odyssey Theatre Ensemble


Lee Martino, The Wrong Man, The Skylight Theatre

Direction Award
Jessica Kubzansky, Everything You Touch, The Theater @ Boston Court and Rattlestick Playwrights Theater

Posted: March 18, 2015