2013-14 Ovation Awards Nominations Are Announced

Twelve UCLA TFT faculty and alums are in the mix

The Department of Theater at the UCLA School of Theater, Film and Television was well represented when the 2014 LA Stage Alliance Ovation Awards nominations were announced on Mon., Sept. 22. Three faculty members, one of whom is also a UCLA TFT alumnus, and nine other alumni were recognized for their contributions to regional theater in the Greater Los Angeles area during the 2013-14 theater season.

UCLA TFT Visiting Associate Professor BRIAN KITE (B.A., ’91, M.F.A. ’04), who is also the producing artistic director of the La Mirada Theatre for the Performing Arts, was nominated as best director of a musical for the company’s production of Les Miserables. His nomination was one of 17 that La Mirada received as a whole.

The Los Angeles Theater Center production of Premeditation, directed by LATC Artistic Director and Professor JOSE LUIS VALENZUELA, received three nominations: best director of a play (Valenzuela); best production of a play (large theater); and best lighting design for PABLO SANTIAGO (M.F.A., Theater, ’13).

Visiting Assistant Professor JESSICA KUBZANSKY was nominated as best director of a play for her direction of Everything You Touch at The Theater @ Boston Court in Pasadena, one of 19 nominations that the theater group received.

A full list of UCLA TFT nominees follows:

SHEILA CALLAGHAN (M.F.A., Theater, ’97)
Playwriting for an original play — Everything You Touch

JON GOTTLIEB (M.F.A., Theater, ’07)
Sound design (Large Theater) — Country House

SHANNON HOLT (B.A., Theater, ’84)
Featured actress in a play — Passion Play

ANNA KHAJA (B.A., Theater, ’97)
Lead actress in a play — My Name Is Ahser Lev

HANA KIM (M.F.A., Theater, ’12)
Video/projection design — The Ugly One
Video/projection design — Pray to Ball

BRIAN KITE (Theater, B.A., ’91; M.F.A., ’04)
Director of a musical — Les Miserables

Director of a play — Everything You Touch

SPENCER LEE (B.A., Film and Television, ’98)
Video/projection design — Pray to Ball

TIM ROBBINS (B.A., Theater, ’82)
Director of a play — A Midsummer Night's Dream

PABLO SANTIAGO (MFA, Theater, ’13)
Lighting design — Premeditation

KELLY TODD (B.A., Theater, ’97)
Choreography — Lysistrata Jones

Director of a play — Premeditation

Additionally, Professor RICH ROSE designed the set for La Mirada’s production of Floyd Collins, which received a total of nine nominations.

The 2014 LA Stage Alliance Ovation Awards will take place on Sun., Nov. 2 at the San Gabriel Mission Playhouse.

Posted: September 29, 2014

UPDATE: Kelly Todd won an Ovation Award for her choreography of Lysistrata Jones at the Chance Theater in Anaheim Hills.