• Undergraduate Slider1
Home > 2012 UCLA TFT Film Festival > Screenwriters Showcase

Screenwriters' Showcase

The UCLA Screenwriters Showcase is a feature and teleplay competition for the MFA Screenwriting candidates, celebrating the work of entertainment's newest crop of screenwriting talent. Student work is read by over 200 top industry judges (including agents, managers, producers and development executives), and the competition culminates in a gala event during the UCLA Film Festival in late spring.

At the event, the work of eight winning students is celebrated with a staged reading, along with presentations from faculty, prominent alumni and an annual honoree, who is presented with the Excellence in Screenwriting Award. Our 2011 honoree was Aaron Sorkin,and this year we continue the tradition by honoring veteran screenwriter and three-time Oscar nominee John Logan.

Past showcase winners have gone on to be represented by major agencies, and many have had their work optioned by production companies or studios. The UCLA Screenwriters Showcase is the best way for the industry to be introduced to the brightest new talent in screenwriting.

2012 Honorees

John Logan, Excellence in Screenwriting

Special Guests:
Michael Mann, Producer / Writer / Director
Mike Werb, Screenwriter


Jumping Ship | Kurtis Estes
Please Don’t Feed the Children | Paul Bertino
Sins of the Father | Tamara Carter
Wendigo | Devin Fearn
Vinegar Hill | Michael Brettler

TELEVISION: After Life | Jim McDermott
Orion | Janis Robertson
Paradise | Maggie Malone


Caged | Spencer Ballou
Date This, Not That | Ang Olschewski
That’s So 80s | Harrison Pierce
Constantinople |Ben Kopit
Ticking Clock | Ben Frahm

Someone’s Daughter | Justine Prado
Dead Run | Neville Kiser
Code Adam |Jackie Vleck

Related Links: