Home > Faculty > Phyllis Nagy

Phyllis Nagy

Head of Screenwriting; Professor

“PhyllisPhyllis Nagy’s screenplay for Carol, based on The Price of Salt, Patricia Highsmith’s classic second novel, won the New York and Seattle Film Critics Circle awards and received Academy Award, BAFTA, Spirit Award, Gotham Award and WGA nominations for Best Adapted Screenplay in 2016.

She previously wrote and directed HBO Films’ Mrs. Harris, which starred Annette Bening and Ben Kingsley. A Gala Presentation at the Toronto International Film Festival, Mrs. Harris received 12 Emmy nominations, including nods for Nagy’s work as a writer and a director, won a PEN Literary Award for its script, a Gracie Allen Award for its direction and was nominated for multiple Golden Globe and SAG Awards.

Nagy served as writer-in-residence at The Royal Court Theatre, London, where four of her plays premiered: Weldon Rising, Disappeared, The Strip and Never Land. Her other plays include Butterfly Kiss (Almeida Theatre, London); The Talented Mr. Ripley (Palace Theatre, Watford); The Seagull (Chichester Festival Theatre); The Scarlett Letter (Denver Center Theater, Classic Stage Company, New York and Chichester Festival Theatre); Trip’s Cinch (Actors Theater of Louisville Human Festival); and Delores, a contemporary version of Euripides’s Andromache (BBC Radio). Her plays have been translated into a dozen languages, have been performed across the globe and are published by Methuen Drama, Faber & Faber and Samuel French.

She is the recipient of numerous fellowships and awards for her work in the theater, including a McKnight Fellowship, two National Endowment for the Arts Playwriting Fellowships, a Writer’s Guild of Great Britain award, a Mobil International Playwriting Prize, and a New York State Council for the Arts Playwriting Fellowship.

Nagy is a member of The Academy Motion Picture Arts & Sciences, where she is a member of the Writers Branch Executive Committee; The British Academy of Film and Television Arts; The Academy of Television Arts & Sciences; The Writers Guild of America West; and PEN American Center.